Below is the full list of 2017 Categories. Once you have read through the requirements and outlines head to the REGISTER page and let us know which categories you’d like to be considered in!


Wedding Industry Business of the Year

This award is for any business within the Scottish wedding industry that strives to create a perfect wedding for all regardless of sexuality, gender, ethnicity, disability, age, race or religion. Nominees can be venues, services or products.

Straight Ally Award

A straight ally is a heterosexual or cisgender person who has went the extra mile to champion diversity. This award will go to someone who has challenged homophobia, biphobia and transphobia and has been a loyal friend to the LGBT community.

Media Coverage of the Year

Nominees for this award can come from across several sectors of Scottish media, be it an individual journalist’s efforts, a media outlet’s committed coverage of LGBTI issues, a dedicated marketing campaign or a media portrayal that has had a positive effect on encouraging diversity in Scotland.

Diversity & Inclusion Manager of the Year

This award will seek to reward any D&I Manager (or equivalent) who has changed the culture towards diversity in their workplace to help both their colleagues and customers prosper at work.

Uniformed Icon of the Year

Army, Navy, RAF, Police, NHS, Fire Brigade – Who do you think has gone the extra mile to support and help break down barriers within our uniformed professions?

Sporting Icon of the Year

This award is for a group or an individual who has helped promote diversity and inclusion in or through sport.

Politician of the Year

Finalists for this category can come from across the political spectrum in Scotland. From activists and campaigners to elected officials and politicians.

Venue of the Year

This award will go to the venue that you believe has most welcomed and supported diversity in Scotland, whether it be a bar, restaurant, club or community hall.

Role Model of the Year Award

This award will seek to reward an individual or group who has truly gone the extra mile in the name of diversity in Scotland and has been a true role model to the Scottish LGBT community. This can be an individual volunteer, a support group or a community association

Event of the Year

From arts festivals to educational conferences, and everything in-between! What events in the last 12 months have supported and promoted diversity in Scotland?

Charity of the Year

We will welcome both national and local charities as nominees in this category. Their work can be geared to support several groups or a particular cause within the broader call for greater diversity.

Businessperson of the Year

Awarded to a Scottish professional who has shown impressive business acumen over the last 12 months. Finalists will be asked to provide detailed evidence of how they, as an individual, have actively sought to improve diversity in their community or business.

Volunteer of the Year

This award will go to someone who has volunteered for a diversity/LGBT/human rights or equality charity and has gone that extra mile.

Entertainer of the Year

Awarded to someone in the entertainment industry who actively supports and champions diversity. Whether it be a pop superstar or wedding singer, all are eligible.

Employer of the Year (under 200 employees)

The finalists for this category will come from any small-medium businesses with headquarters based in Scotland. They will be progressive supporters of diversity in the workforce as well as addressing the needs of all their employees.

Employer of the Year (over 200 employees)

This category is open to all large businesses with more than 200 employees across Scotland. Finalists for this category will be pioneers in championing diversity and equality, with dedicated structures set to support their diverse workforce.

The Icon Award

The prestigious Icon Award goes to an individual who encapsulates everything we stand for – celebrating diversity and equality and working tirelessly as a great ambassador for diversity and LGBT+ community rights. This award will be awarded to an individual by our judges and is not open to public voting.